Technical Assistance

We provide technical guidance and assistance resources to local and regional organizations through 4 strategically located regional offices. The breadth of expertise at each office is designed to meet the general issues in the regions. These offices have expertise to assist water management groups and the public by providing guidance and recommendations on methods and techniques related to a number of subjects.


Learn more about our IRWM and SGMA grants.


The Northern Region Office, headquartered in Red Bluff, provides technical support in 16 counties of California, including Butte, Colusa, Del Norte, Glenn, Humboldt, Lassen, Modoc, Plumas, Shasta, Siskiyou, Tehama, and Trinity, as well as portions of Mendocino, Lake, Sierra, and Yolo.













The North Central Region, headquartered in West Sacramento, provides technical support in 27 counties of California, including Sonoma, Napa, Sutter, Yuba, Nevada, Placer, El Dorado, Alpine, Calaveras, Amador, Sacramento, Solano, Contra Costa, Alameda, Santa Clara, San Mateo, San Francisco, and Marin, as well as portions of Mendocino, Lake, Sierra, Yolo, Plumas, Mono, Tuolumne, Stanislaus, and San Joaquin.



The South Central Region Office, headquartered in Fresno, provides technical support in 14 counties, including Fresno, Kings, Madera, Mariposa, Merced, Monterey, San Benito, Santa Cruz, Stanislaus, and Tulare Counties as well as portions of Kern, Tuolumne, Stanislaus and San Joaquin Counties.


The Southern Region, headquartered in Glendale, provides technical support in 11 counties of California, including Santa Barbara, Ventura, Los Angeles, Orange, San Diego, Imperial, Riverside, San Bernardino, Inyo, as well as portions of Kern and Mono.