Regional Flood Management Planning

Following adoption of the 2012 Central Valley Flood Protection Plan (2012 CVFPP), DWR funded six regionally-led Regional Flood Management Plans (RFMPs) that describe local and regional flood management priorities and challenges. These RFMPs also identify potential funding mechanisms and site-specific improvement needs.

These regional plans provide valuable perspectives from regional and local flood managers that help inform and align CVFPP investment strategies and implementation. The RFMPs also provide a platform for meaningful engagement among DWR and local and regional flood planning entities across the Sacramento River and San Joaquin River basins.  

45-Day public comment period opens for the Regional Flood Management Program Draft Guidelines

The California Department of Water Resources (DWR) is pleased to announce a 45-day public comment period for the Regional Flood Management Program (RFMP) Draft Guidelines (PDF)  RFMP will  provide funding to California local public agencies willing to coordinate and collaborate with other interested parties and stakeholders in their region to pursue local funding mechanisms and regional consolidation. These agencies will also, as appropriate, implement programs, studies, and activities in support of their previously completed Regional Plans that are consistent with the 2017 Central Valley Flood Protection Plan (CVFPP) Update and future updates of the CVFPP.  

Following the close of the public comment period and review of public comments, the Final Guidelines will be released and three online public workshops will be held in December 2021.

Comment Period

The 45-day public comment period began on October 19, 2021, and it will close at 5 p.m. on Friday, December 3, 2021. Please submit your comments on the draft guidelines via email to Aaron Wu at or mail them to: 

California Department of Water Resources
Attention: Aaron Wu
3464 El Camino Avenue, Suite 200
Sacramento, CA 95821

The RFMPs, flood atlases, and contact information for the six regions are available on these websites:


For more information, contact: